Institute of Public Health

The Institute of Public Health informs public policy to support healthier populations in Ireland and Northern Ireland. We focus on prevention and promotion of population health, rather than health protection and infectious diseases.

During the COVID-19 pandemic the Institute is supporting both Departments of Health and health agencies in Ireland and Northern Ireland where possible by providing policy and research analysis, and communication support.

If you need assistance regarding COVID-19, symptoms, and organising a test you can find more information below relating to the relevant agencies in Ireland and Northern Ireland.

 

Information for Ireland

The National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET), chaired by the Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan, is monitoring the situation in relation to COVID-19 (Coronavirus) in Ireland.

The NPHET meets to assess the situation and is receiving advice from public health experts, including the WHO and ECDC.

Further information is available from:

  • View latest updates and case information from the Department of Health  here
  • To find out more about COVID-19, protecting yourself and others, symptoms and testing, visit the HSE website  here or phone HSE Live on 1850 241 850
  • For travel advice visit the Department of Foreign Affairs website  here
  • For latest updates from the Health Protection Surveillance Centre visit  here
  • Advice and guidance for healthcare workers can be viewed here
  • Guidance from the WHO can be viewed  here
  • If you have a press query please contact the Department of Health Press Office by emailing  press_office@health.gov.ie  or phone 01 6354477

 

Information for Northern Ireland

The Department of Health and the Public Health Agency (PHA) is working with partners across the UK including Public Health England, health trusts in Northern Ireland, and the health service in Ireland, on the response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

Further information is available from:

  • To find out more about COVID-19, protecting yourself and others, symptoms and testing, visit the Public Health Agency website  here
  • Guidance for health professionals can be found  here
  • Travel advice can be viewed  here
  • If you have a press query please contact the PHA Press Office by phone on 0300 555 0114

 

Our offices in Dublin and Belfast are closed, but our operations continue.

In line with the recommendations of the Chief Medical Officers in Ireland and Northern Ireland, the staff of the Institute of Public Health will be working remotely during this period. Our offices in Dublin and Belfast will remain closed, but our operations continue.

The Institute is encouraging the use of virtual meetings and digital first technology. Our team is available as normal and contact details are listed below.

 

Name Job Title Direct Line Email Address
Aideen Sheehan Knowledge Translation Officer – Ageing & Public Health aideen.sheehan@publichealth.ie
Aisling O’Connor Office Manager aisling.oconnor@publichealth.ie
Annette Burns Public Health Interventions Officer – Loneliness & Ageing annette.burns@publichealth.ie
Helen McAvoy Director of Policy 01 478 6317 helen.mcavoy@publichealth.ie
Lauren Rodriguez Public Health Development Officer lauren.rodriguez@publichealth.ie
Louise Bradley Resource Manager louise.bradley@publichealth.ie
Martin Grant Communications Officer 01 478 6319 martin.grant@publichealth.ie
Sinéad Ward Director of Finance & Governance 01 478 6312 sinead.ward@publichealth.ie
Suzanne Costello Chief Executive 01 478 6308 suzanne.costello@publichealth.ie
Tara Burke Programme Assistant tara.burke@publichealth.ie
Adam McCune IT & Communications Manager 028 96 22 3105 adam.mccune@publichealth.ie
Conor Cunningham Public Health Interventions Officer – Physical Activity & Ageing conor.cunningham@publichealth.ie
James Vincent ICT & Digital Officer 028 96 22 3104 james.vincent@publichealth.ie
Joanna Purdy Public Health Development Officer joanna.purdy@publichealth.ie
Laura McQuade Evaluations & Interventions Officer – Ageing & Public Health laura.mcquade@publichealth.ie
Leah Friend Office Administrator leah.friend@publichealth.ie
Roger O’Sullivan Director of Ageing Research & Development 028 96 22 3106 roger.osullivan@publichealth.ie
Sharon Brennan Office Manager sharon.brennan@publichealth.ie

 

Latest publications

Recently published resources are provided below, if you require information on any other IPH publications please contact our Information Resource Officer.

Contact details

Belfast
6th Floor, City Exchange
Gloucester Street
Belfast
BT1 4JH
Telephone: +44 28 9064 8494
Fax: +44 28 9064 6604

 

Dublin
700 South Circular Road
Dublin 8
Ireland
D08 NH90
Telephone: +353 1 478 6300
Fax: + 353 1 478 6319

Sign up for our newsletter!

Stay up to date with our work in addition to key public health policies and events by signing up for our newsletter. Registration is short and simple.